The 1986 Super League of Malawi was the first season of the country’s national top tier league for association football.

To compete in the first national league championship, the top three teams from the Lilongwe and Districts Football League (LDFL) and the top five teams from the Blantyre and Districts Football League (BDFL) were invited. Limbe Leaf Wanderers FC and Hardware Stars, two Blantyre-based clubs, had declared they would not be participating. However, the Nomads later changed their mind, and Admarc Tigers took the place of Hardware Stars. Red Lions, Bata Bullets, and Berec Power Pack (later became MDC United FC) were the other three teams from the Southern Region. Silver Strikers FC, Civo United FC, and Mitco FC represented the central region.

Gillette Nacet was the first sponsor of the three-round home-and-away league format. On March 15, 1986, Mitco FC and Admarc Tigers played their first game. Lameck Botha became the first player in Super League of Malawi history to score a goal in the 21st minute, as the capital city side got better of their opponents with a 1-0 margin win.


Social Media

Scroll to Top